Annual leave hours


Q: According to an OPM chart, the Annual Leave Year for 2012 begins on Jan. 1, 2012, and ends Jan. 12, 2013. If I am counting correctly, that is 27 pay periods. Is this correct?  What will be the maximum number of annual leave hours an employee can accrue for Annual Leave Year 2012?

A: As always, the maximum number of annual leave hours you can accrue is the amount you earn during all the pay periods in a leave year. However, with rare exception, the maximum number of hours a nonpostal employee can carry over to the next leave year is 240.


About Author

Reg Jones was head of retirement and insurance policy at the Office of Personnel Management. Email your retirement-related questions to

Leave A Reply